The Dillinger Escape Plan detail new album Dissociation, first single “Limerent Death” streaming

The Dillinger Escape Plan 2

The Dillinger Escape Plan have unveiled the cover art and track listing for their new full-length Dissociation. October 14 is the scheduled release date through Party Smasher Inc. of what appears to be the group’s swansong record. Guitarist Ben Weinman comments to Noisey:

“Well, I think in some ways we didn’t want to pull a ‘Seinfeld‘, you know what I mean? The band has actually never been more prolific and we’re as credible and popular as ever. I think whenever we’re on stage, there’s not another band in the world playing at that time that even comes close to us, and that’s our goal.

We’re really excited about this new album as well, but at the same time, it’s going to be our 20-year anniversary in 2017—it might be even longer because I’m not sure when I started writing songs, but the first EP came out in ’97—so I think it’s one of those things where we didn’t want to get to the point where we’re stopping because we have to or because we’re old or people are kind of over it.

Who knows if that would ever happen, but I feel way more empowered in making hard decisions. I don’t like the idea of slowing down or doing it less often, I like to just dive in full-force and take things to the extreme because that’s what this band has always been about…

…We are going to do the cycle for this album and that’s it. But there are a lot of things that go into this cycle. We have a full US tour that we’ll be doing in the fall and then we’ll be doing a massive tour in Europe in the winter, and that will probably take us towards playing other areas like Australia or wherever we have to hit. Then I’m sure we’ll come back around and hit summer festivals and figure out what our very last shows will be around that time.”

Frontman Greg Puciato, on the other hand, doesn’t want to make such claims just yet stating in an interview with Alternative Press:

“There’s literally nothing on the record referencing our breakup. It’s not even something I was thinking about when I was writing. For me, every record is a time capsule of life at that moment: You want to stuff everything you can in there so that you’re not walking around with it. So if something’s a burden in my life, I’ll try to turn that into something other people can enjoy and get something out of. But most of my life outside of Dillinger has nothing to do with playing in Dillinger…

…Who knows how we’re going to feel after the 200 more shows we still have to play. That’s what I mean: We’re about to announce our breakup, and I’m not even thinking about it. The only thing I care about is that the record is being announced and the release date is being announced and we’re finally going to have the fucking first song off the record for people to listen to properly, instead of a radio stream.

I’m not thinking about a breakup that’s not going to initiate until hundreds of shows from now. And definitely, creatively, I don’t know what the fuck I’m gonna be thinking two years from now when we finally play our last show…

…No one in this band is dumb enough to say something’s ever really done. If you’re smart and you look at every other band that’s done this, I mean, Guns ‘N Roses are fucking back, for Christ’s sake. Van Halen already came back. So the only thing you can do to make yourself not look like an idiot and not have to eat your own words is to leave it open for possibilities, because that’s reality. People are done when they’re dead.”

The group premiered their new single, “Limerent Death”, this past Sunday on BBC Radio 1’s Rock Show with Daniel P. Carter. A YouTube audio stream is now available and can be heard below. Pre-order are now available and can be found here.

Dissociation track listing:

1. “Limerent Death”
2. “Symptom Of Terminal Illness”
3. “Wanting Not So Much As To”
4. “Fugure”
5. “Low Feelds Blvd”
6. “Surrogate”
7. “Honeysuckle”
8. “Manufacturing Discontent”
9. “Apologies Not Included”
10. “Nothing To Forget”
11. “Dissociation”

The Dillinger Escape Plan 4