SHVPES debut “Calloused Hands” music video

Song: “Calloused Hands”
Album: Greater Than
Release Date: November 9th, 2018
Label: Spinefarm Records

Frontman Griffin Dickinson said of the new single:

“This is the first song we wrote together after coming back from our first European tour. We’d been out for six weeks, experiencing something we’d always dreamed of… As soon as we got back, as with most tours, reality hits and you’re sucked back into the ‘real world’ that pressures you to go and get a ‘real job’ i.e. doing something you probably don’t care about, for some narcissistic company that equally doesn’t care about you. This song was all about reminding myself why I don’t want to be a part of that. With lyrics like ‘capitalise; cannibalise’ and ‘paralysed by your next fix’ it’s exploring the futility of the paper chase.”

Speaking of the album, the group previously said:

“We’ve decided to bring you the full SHVPES experience this year with Album 2: Greater Than out on November 9th. We’re intensely proud of these tracks. We think they deserve to be experienced together in all of their glory. And we will have more to share with you very soon. We’re gutted to keep you guys in suspense, but we promise it’ll be worth the wait!”

Dickinson added:

“What we’ve created feels bold, and I’m not worried about people getting pissed off – they can take it or leave it. A lot of people are going to absolutely love it.”


  • All options
  • Greater Than track listing:

    1. “Calloused Hands”
    2. “Undertones”
    3. “Afterlife”
    4. “Someone Else”
    5. “Two Wrongs, No Rights”
    6. “Rain”
    feat. Matt Heafy (Trivium)
    7. “War”
    8. “Renegades”
    9. “Hey Brother”
    10. “I’m Stuck”
    11. “Note to Cell”
    12. “Counterfeit”