Scour (Superjoint, Pig Destroyer, Cattle Decapitation, etc.) announce self-titled album; stream new track “Dispatched”

Scour 1

Official press release:

Among the most anticipated “supergroup” collaborations of recent times, Scour unites the talents of Philip H. Anselmo (Pantera, Down, Superjoint etc.), John Jarvis (Pig Destroyer), Derek Engemann (Cattle Decapitation), Chase Fraser (Continuum, ex-Animosity, Decrepit Birth), and Jesse Schobel (Strong Intention). Together they conjure a harrowing strain of blackened, grind-infused sonic murk; dark, deviant and distinctly unlike any of their root bands. Scour speaks for itself.

The band’s six-track, self-titled debut was mixed by Dave Otero (Cephalic Carnage, Cattle Decapitation, Cobalt, Khemmis) and will see release July 15th, 2016 through Housecore Records on CD and vinyl formats. In the meantime, Decibel Magazine offers opening track, “Dispatched” for first-time public ingestion hailing a sound that’s, “firmly rooted in ’90s Scandinavian black metal.”

Comments Anselmo:

“Doing the Scour project was a blast. The track, ‘Dispatched’ was the first one I attacked, as it was the first one sent to me. Lyrically, I leave it to the listener to evaluate, as usual. The way I saw it, the songs were short, and extremely straight-forward, so I didn’t want to clutter ’em up with too much. Therefore, I had to pick particular lyrics that seemed provocatively absurd enough, and to perform them as raw as deemed fit. Hope all true extreme music lovers enjoy the stuff as much as I did performing it. A huge cheers to all the awesome collaborators on this project… Much love to all.”

Sample “Dispatched” below via Decibel.

Further Scour missives to be unveiled in the coming weeks.

Scour track listing:

1. “Dispatched”
2. “Clot”
3. “Crooked”
4. “Codes”
5. “Tactics”
6. “Tear Gas”

Scour 2

Scour is:

Philip H. Anselmo – vocals
Derek Engemann – guitars
Chase Fraser – guitars
John Jarvis – bass
Jesse Schobel – drums