Saxon to reissue classic compilations Heavy Metal Thunder – Bloodstock Edition & The Saxon Chronicles

Official press release:

Saxon is ready to kick off 2015 with the re-release of two classic collections, each covering significant career highlights as well as offering something new in their 2015 versions.

On February 13, 2015, Saxon greatest hits release Heavy Metal Thunder will make its market re-entry together with a brand new bonus CD, Live At Bloodstock. First released in 2002, Heavy Metal Thunder features 13 bona-fide Saxon classics from the halcyon days of the early 80’s, with eight of the cuts having been re-recorded again in 2001 to offer a fresh perspective. [Amazon Pre-Order]

At the same time, fans will also once again be able to buy The Saxon Chronicles, a double-disc DVD which now also includes a bonus CD titled Rock’n’Roll Gypsies 1989 Live. Released originally in 2003, The Saxon Chronicles is a double-DVD set which features not only the band’s 2001 Wacken performance, but original song videos, interviews and exclusive on-tour documentaries. [Amazon Pre-Order]

See below for tracklistings for both releases:

Heavy Metal Thunder – Bloodstock Edition:

CD I Tracklist:
1. “Heavy Metal Thunder”
2. “Strong Arm of the Law”
3. “Power & the Glory”
4. “And the Bands Played On”
5. “Crusader”
6. “Dallas 1PM”
7. “Princess of the Night”
8. “Wheels of Steel”
9. “747 (Strangers in the Night)”
10. “Motorcycle Man”
11. “Never Surrender”
12. “Denim & Leather”
13. “Backs to the Wall”

Bonus CD II Live at Bloodstock 2014:
1. “Sacrifice”
2. “Power and the Glory”
3. “Heavy Metal Thunder”
4. “Battalions of Steel”
5. “Motorcycle Man”
6. “And the Bands Played On”
7. “To Hell and Back Again”
8. “747 (Strangers in the Night)”
9. “Crusader”
10. “Wheels of Steel”
11. “Princess of the Night”
12. “Denim and Leather”

The Saxon Chronicles + Rock’n’Roll Gypsies 1989 Live

DVD I Wacken Open Air Festival, Germany 2001 Tracklist:
1. “Motorcycle Man”
2. “Dogs Of War”
3. “Heavy Metal Thunder”
4. “Cut Out The Disease”
5. “Solid Ball Of Rock”
6. “Metalhead”
7. “The Eagle Has Landed”
8. “Conquistador” (Drum Solo)
9. “Crusader”
10. “Power And The Glory”
11. “Princess Of The Night”
12. “Wheels Of Steel” (Guitar Solo)
13. “Strong Arm Of The Law”
14. “20,000 Ft.”
15. “Denim And Leather”

Bonus Stuff : Interview with Biff Byford

DVD II Tracklist:
Video: Saxon on Tour
Saxon Official Videos:
1. “Suzie Hold On”
2. “Power And The Glory”
3. “Nightmare”
4. “Back On The Streets Again”
5. “Rockin’ Again”
6. “(Requiem) We Will Remember”
7. “Unleash The Beast” + Behind The Scenes
8. “Killing Ground”

Saxon on TV – Interviews, History, TV-Appearances:
1. “And the Band Played On”
2. “Back on the Streets”
3. “Never Surrender”
4. “Denim And Leather”
5. “Wheels of Steel”

Bonus Stuff: Text/Photo Gallery

Bonus: Rock’n’Roll Gypsies 1989 Live Audio CD Tracklist:
1. “Power And Glory”
2. “And The Bands Played On”
3. “Rock The Nation”
4. “Dallas 1PM”
5. “Broken Heroes”
6. “Battle Cry”
7. “Rock ‘N Roll Gypsies”
8. “Northern Lady”
9. “I Can’t Wait Anymore”
10. “This Town Rocks”
11. “The Eagle Has Landed”
12. “Just Let Me Rock”