Ruts DC to release new album Music Must Destroy in September through Restricted Release/Abstract Sounds; premiere video for “Psychic Attack”

Ruts DC 1

Official press release:

Restricted Release/Abstract Sound Distribution proudly announces September 16 as the North American release date for Music Must Destroy, the new album from punk icons Ruts DC. To celebrate, New Noise Magazine is featuring the Graham Trott produced video for the band’s new single, “Psychic Attack.” A limited-edition 7-inch of the song will be available on August 12; fans can pre-order it here now.

“Psychic Attack” finds original members bassist Segs Jennings and drummer Dave Ruffy once again blazing forth with their perfect mix of punk, rock, and reggae. With guitarist Leigh Heggarty completing the line-up, the new song celebrates the return of one of punk’s most treasured bands. Segs shares:

“It’s been a long time coming but the time has never been so right.”

“Psychic Attack” has already drawn early acclaim with Louder Than War noting, “it’s probably the best three minutes of punk rock ‘n roll you will hear all year.”

Music Must Destroy is the first rock material the band has written since the release of 1981’s Animal Now. Segs comments:

“We’ve been writing over the last year or so as we’ve been touring around. We’ve been inspired by the newly found interest in what we’re doing and the many live shows we’ve done.”

Discussing the album’s creative process, Segs details:

“We recorded all the backing tracks live at Pat Colliers London studio. Pat has engineered the sessions while our friend James Knight co-produced. We have also been doing work with Greg ‘Wizard’ Fleming at his studio in Brixton. Lee Groves in Nashville has handled final mixes.”

With some work still left on the recording, the band recently confirmed they reunited with artist John H. Howard for the album’s cover art.

The Ruts formed in London as a reggae-influenced punk band in 1977. Of their six initial singles, it was their second – “Babylon’s Burning” – that reached No. 7 on the UK Singles chart. Their full-length debut, The Crack, was released in 1979. Henry Rollins calls it “the best album ever made.” Sabotage Times called it “a debut album of unparalleled greatness.” With a second Peel Session recorded and a UK tour completely sold out in advance, it was a great time for the band. However that quickly changed with the the tragic death of original vocalist Malcolm Owen in 1980. Jennings and Ruffy continued on as a trio with guitarist Paul Fox – now as Ruts DC. Despite growing acclaim, the band folded in 1982.

The band reformed in 2007 to play a benefit for Fox, then battling lung cancer. Henry Rollins would sing for this now legendary show which included performances from The Damned, UK Subs, Tom Robinson, and The Peafish House Band which featured Lee Harris (The Blockheads), Tony Barber (Buzzcocks), and Rowland Rivron. Fox died on October 21, 2007 at the age of 56.

Now in 2016, Ruts DC are as fresh and vital as they were in their youth. Ruts DC will perform at the 20th Anniversary Rebellion Festival in Blackpool on August 6 and a special show is planned at London’s Underworld on September 16 to celebrate the album’s release.

Ruts DC 2

Ruts DC 3