Rivals announce debut album Damned Souls, issue video for “Low”

Photo by: Jason Mageau

Official press release:

Dark pop-rock powerhouse Rivals are thrilled to announce the official details for their first full-length album, Damned Soul, which is set for release on February 2, 2018 via Smartpunk Records. Damned Soul is a 10-track banger that was produced by John Espy (Red Jumpsuit Apparatus) and Aaron Edwards (Sick Puppies, Elohim, The Cab), with additional writing for drums and mixing/mastering by Cody Stewart (The Browning, Rings Of Saturn, Falsifier). To celebrate the announcement, the band dropped a stunning music video for the album’s debut track, “Low”, which lyrically is a reminder for anyone who needs to feel good in a relationship and worth love. The video for “Low” is a colorful representation of the band’s energetic live performance and was directed by the talented Brian Cox. As explained by guitarist Micket Woodle:

‘Low’ is about liking or wanting someone–or being with someone–and just wanting it to work.”

On the upcoming release of Damned Soul, Rivals shared this statement:

“For this album we wanted to show a darker side of who we were, show everyone what our demons looked like. We wanted to make sure that no matter what, you could see right through us.”

Damned Soul will be out on 2/2/18 via Smartpunk Records and can be pre-ordered here with an instant download of the debut track.

Damned Soul track listing:

1. “Over It”
2. “Low”
3. “Damned Soul”
4. “Gunslinger”
5. “Moonlit”
6. “Wild Things”
7. “Misery Memory”
8. “Reflection”
9. “Keep Going”
10. “To: Leila”