Psycroptic announce new record As The Kingdom Drowns, stream first single “We Were The Keepers”

Official press release:

Tasmanian extreme metal stalwarts, Psycroptic have announced the title and details to their 7th full length studio album, As The Kingdom Drowns. The album will be out November 9th and will be available on all digital outlets, compact disc, limited edition cassette and on 5 different colored LPs. Pre-orders are available now at this location.

Containing nine tracks of riffed filled, technical ecstasy, the Tasmaniac’s are back to reclaim their kingdom. Hear the lead off track from the album via Decibel Magazine, here:

Formed by brothers Dave and Joe Haley, Psycroptic have always lived in that very small space between technical and metal. The over the top insanity peaked with their 3rd album, 2006’s Symbols Of Failure. From there the band looked to smooth things out a bit, whether it was with some ambience or industrial elements in 2008’s Ob(Servant) or focusing in on the groove on 2012’s, The Inherited Repression. 2015’s Psycroptic seemed to encompass all that the band had done, so where does one go from there? For the band, it was somewhat easy.

The self-titled album gave the band a new and solid platform to launch off of, making experimentation easier. The hard part was where to go and just how far to take it. Singer, Jason Peppiatt comments:

“As always with this band we wanted it to have the distinctive sound of a Psycroptic album but wanted to push ourselves further with adding new elements and having a darker vibe than on previous releases. I think we achieved our goal and this is something we are all very proud of!”

The new album was once again produced by J. Haley and was mixed and mastered by Will Putney. Artwork was handled by Mariusz Lewandowsky.

As The Kingdom Drowns track listing:

1. “We Were The Keepers”
2. “Frozen Gaze”
3. “Directive”
4. “Deadlands”
5. “As The Kingdom Drowns”
6. “Beyond The Black”
7. “Upon These Stones”
8. “Momentum of the Void”
9. “You Belong Here, Below”

As Psycroptic approaches their 20 year anniversary, it’s nice to see them sounding as fresh as ever. With age comes wisdom and maturity. All the band’s previous work got them to where they are at today. Comfortable in their own shoes, nothing to prove, being able to look back at their earlier years with pride and seeing a long road ahead that they know they are ready to tackle.

Psycroptic is:

Dave Haley – drums
Joe Haley – guitar
Jason Peppiatt – vocals
Todd Stern – bass guitar