Lost In Kiev announce new record Persona; drop video for title track

Official press release:

Parisian post-rock outfit Lost In Kiev returns with their long-awaited third album and most astounding work to date, Persona. Set for release via their new label home of Pelagic Records April 26th, Persona is raw and driven, oozing with thick synth textures and a great sense of melancholy and drama.

Persona sees Lost In Kiev further expand their own idiosyncratic take on cinematic, contemporary post-rock. Guitarist Maxime Ingrand explains:

“The main challenge with this record was how to write more direct and shorter post rock tracks with the same intensity as our previous, longer compositions and also finding the right balance between traditional post rock, the addition of synths and machines, and the texts for the film.”

Lost In Kiev have always been one of the few truly suggestive post rock bands: they do lack a vocalist, and yet their music is prosaic, cinematic, and deeply saturated with anecdotes, philosophical reflections and stories. In advance of its release, Ghost Cult is pleased to debut Lost In Kiev’s alluring video clip for Persona‘s title track. Issues the drummer and director Yoann Vermeulen:

Persona evokes the creation of a new intelligent being, similar to ourselves, created by a robotics company. The human resemblance is so impressive that we can say that it is the ‘spark of a new world’. The clip narrates the creation of this first being. A shot of space, the infinite, juxtaposed with images of microbiology reminiscent of the birth of life on Earth. Gradually, small objects begin to reveal the subject in more depth. Finally, a body emerges from a 3D printer. The universe is white, immaculate, like a technological fantasy. The video then turns into dark colors and reveals the sordid aspect of the business. The company logo that appears states ‘Make your future more human,’ an ironic slogan which is referenced on the track ‘Pygmalion’. The shots multiply, and the rhythm accelerates and ends with a rewind of the genesis. The shot of space becomes interrupted by a glitch. This sequence is a mirror to the first scene that evokes the birth from the void (space). In the last shot, the CEO of the company is publicly revealing the successful creation of what is the spark of a new world.”

Persona will be released on CD, digital, and vinyl formats. See below for pre-ordering info:

Persona track listing:

  1. “Persona”
  2. “Lifelooper”
  3. “The Incomplete”
  4. “XM3216”
  5. “Pygmalion”
  6. “Mindfiles”
  7. “Psyche”
  8. “Thumos”
  9. “Mecasocialis”

Lost In Kiev is:

Yoann Vermeulen – drums, samples
Maxime Ingrand – guitar, synth
Jean Christophe Condette – bass, synth
Dimitri Denat – guitar