Loathe announce debut effort The Cold Sun; debut video for new single “Dance On My Skin”

Official press release:

Liverpool based experimental rock/metal band Loathe has announced plans to release their debut album, The Cold Sun, with SharpTone Records on April 14th. The band has partnered with RockSound.tv to premiere the record’s first new song and video, “Dance On My Skin”, and SharpTone has launched a pre-order for the record, both of which can be found now at this location.

Watch the video for “Dance On My Skin” now via RockSound.tv:

Loathe are a sedulous collective of 5, formed in the UK‘s industrial and artistically acclaimed port-city, Liverpool. Their debut record The Cold Sun signifies a forceful and shrewd testimony. The quintet nail their colors to the mast with this resolute mission statement; an ode to the times we’re living in and the murky future that we all find ourselves faced with.

The Cold Sun is a concept record; a compelling 35-minute-long meandering into the depths of a dark, post-apocalyptic tale. The record follows the adjacent timeline of two protagonists, who exist during a dystopian future, stricken by tragedy and the ever-looming apocalypse. When asked about the quintet’s approach to their craft Shayne Smith states:

“Our writing process varies from song to song, but usually it takes one of us to have the initial vision for what we want to create. We then each add our own personal input which completes the piece.”

For The Cold Sun, Loathe traveled to Glow In The Dark Studios in Atlanta, Georgia to record under the watchful eye of producer Matt McClellan (Underoath, The Devil Wears Prada, Being As An Ocean…).

The result is a highly accomplished and enigmatic chronicle, an undoubtedly passionate oeuvre brimming with technical precision, sinister ambience and bitter bile. Loathe offer a complex sonic architecture which weaves together post-punk, hardcore, heavy electronics, djent and deathcore with a side of prog… melding their sonic threads into an anguished and searingly surreal entity which reels you deep into the abyss.

The Cold Sun track listing:

1. “The Cold Sun”
2. “It’s Yours”
3. “Dance On My Skin”
4. “East Of Eden”
5. “Loathe”
6. “3990”
7. “Stigmata”
8. “P.U.R.P.L.E.”
9. “The Omission”
10. “Nothing More”
11. “Never More”
12. “Babylon…”