Lizzy Borden announce new album My Midnight Things, stream lyric video for title track

Photo by: Stephanie Cabral

Official press release:

For decades, Lizzy Borden has been one of theatrical rock’s top front-men. And on June 15th, Borden will issue his first album in 11 years, My Midnight Things, via Metal Blade Records. With the hard n’ heavy tracks of the album opening title cut “Obsessed With You” and “The Scar Across My Heart”, the extended layoff between albums has not dulled his desire to rock and shock. Borden comments:

“Although we have stayed busy touring all over the world, I missed being a recording artist. I look at the new album as a new beginning, I pushed the restart button on my career.”

The album can be pre-ordered and the “My Midnight Things” lyric video can be viewed below via this

Having signed a new contract with Metal Blade on the strength of three demo tracks, Borden opted to produce My Midnight Things himself, with Joey Scott as co-producer, who also handled all the drumming duties. Borden comments:

“I knew what I was going for and had doubts that I could find a producer who would understand that. My approach is very different than what is happening in today’s current sound.”

The album was also mixed by Greg Fidelman (Metallica, Black Sabbath, Adele, U2) and mastered by Tom Baker (David Bowie, Rob Zombie, Marilyn Manson, Tom Petty).

Borden is planning on hitting the road shortly. He adds:

“I’ve already started working on the My Midnight Things show, and I really can’t wait to play these songs live. There are so many talented players out there in the world, I know I will find the right musicians to be on stage with me in my touring band in the new show. And just based on what is being talked about so far, it will be the best show I’ve ever done. I really do feel a new excitement that I have not felt in years. The best is yet to come.”

My Midnight Things track listing:

1. “My Midnight Things”
2. “Obsessed with You”
3. “Long May They Haunt Us”
4. “The Scar Across My Heart”
5. “A Stranger to Love”
6. “The Perfect Poison”
7. “Run Away with Me”
8. “Our Love Is God”
9. “My Midnight Things (Reprise)”
10. “We Belong to the Shadows”