Light Years announce new record Afterlife, release video for new single “Back Then”

Official press release:

Cleveland, OH based Pop-Punk unit, Light Years have weaved their way through the scene for nearly the last decade. Formed by vocalist Pat Kennedy, he enlisted in Tommy Englert, Andrew Foerst and Kent Sliney to round out the group in 2009. The band has toured with heavy-hitters like Neck Deep, State Champs, Modern Baseball, Citizen and Turnover, with appearances on The Vans Warped Tour and So What?! Music Festival. They are ecstatic to give fans a sneak peek at their forthcoming record, Afterlife, due out November 30th via Rude Records. Pre-orders are available now via this link. The 11-track masterpiece was recorded and produced by Will Yip (who also produced the band’s 2015 classic, I’ll See You When I See You) and features their debut single “Back Then”.

“Back Then” is a unique throwback video which features footage from the band growing up. The song has a classic simple rock and roll vibe melded with some new school punk rock elements. Lyrically the song was written about the band’s first time on the road, which was between high school and college and sets the tone sonically for the record. Lead vocalist, Pat Kennedy had this to say about how much Afterlife means to him:

Afterlife is where Light Years has been heading for the past 8 years. We spent more time on this record than anything we have done before and I think it shows. We tried new sounds and ideas that before we would have never thought to do, or been willing to try, which I think only comes from the maturity you get from being in a band for so many years. We hope people like this record as much as we do, but if they don’t, we really don’t care.”

Afterlife track listing:

1. “Back Then”
2. “Bottom of The Ocean”
3. “Lost on The Way Home”
4. “It Doesn’t Matter”
5. “Graveyard”
6. “How Are You”
7. “Should Have Been”
8. “Bottle Rocket”
9. “Burning In My Blood”
10. “Paradise”
11. “If I Knew Then”