Knocked Loose announce new record A Different Shade Of Blue; premiere “…And Still I Wander South”

Photo by: Tim Caymen

Official press release:

Knocked Loose have announced their hotly anticipated new album, A Different Shade of Blue — a mammoth of a sophomore release and massive step forward for the band and for hardcore and metal as we know it.  Recorded by producer Will Putney, the new LP was approached slower and more methodically. Abandoning the previous ‘live in studio’ recording approach for something more deliberate, the band cranked out twelve new tracks that deal with all manner of anger, especially loss in lieu of absence. Vocalist and lyricist Bryan Garris found catharsis as well as some of his most intensely personal lyrics to date.

Lead single “…And Still I Wander South” has been revealed which Garris explains:

“is about wanting to move on, or better yourself for whatever reason, but you keep going back to the same old thing. Whether that be depression or whatever you may be going through. You always wander back to the same mindset.”

While some musical influences are easily identified – Pantera, Hatebreed, Obituary and more ­- the band’s palette and canvas has expanded by leaps and bounds, incorporating Gothenburg-style death metal (At The Gates, early In Flames), slam metal (DevourmentDying Fetus), blood-thirsty thrash (Sodom, Kreator), black metal (Craft) and the mind-boggling complexity of latter noisy hardcore like Snapcase and Bloodlet. Clocking in at a lean and mean 37 minutes and featuring guest vocals from Emma Boster of Dying Wish and Keith Buckley of Every Time I DieA Different Shade of Blue grabs the listener by the throat from the jump and slowly tightening that grip for the duration.

A Different Shade of Blue is due on August 23rd through Pure Noise Records. Pre-orders are available now via MerchNOW and iTunes.

A Different Shade Of Blue track listing:

  1. “Belleville”
  2. “Trapped In The Grasp Of A Memory”
  3. “A Serpent’s Touch” (feat. Emma Boster)
  4. “By The Grave”
  5. “In The Walls”
  6. “Guided By The Moon”
  7. “Mistakes Like Fractures”
  8. “Forget Your Name” (feat. Keith Buckley)
  9. “Road 23”
  10. “…And Still I Wander South”
  11. “Denied By Fate”
  12. “Misguided Son”