Joey Jordison (ex-Slipknot) reforms Scar The Martyr as VIMIC; stream new single “Simple Skeletons”


Joey Jordison (ex-Slipknot) has resurfaced after a lengthy silence with a new band christened VIMIC. The group is a reboot (of sorts) of Jordison’s previous group Scar The Martyr. In a conversation with Jose Mangin of SiriusXM’s Liquid Metal – where the group’s new single “Simple Skeletons” also made its premiere – he states:

“I decided I wanted to start fresh. I did not want to keep rehashing old ideas. If I am going to keep going, I really just wanted to break loose and wipe the slate clean. So I renamed the band, and I got a new singer and a new keyboard player [plus] three other members from the Scar The Martyr lineup. We went down into the basement and started demoing material and everything started clicking.

We didn’t have too many big goals. There wasn’t too much pressure from the label. We just went in, like let’s just go back to getting into the studio, jamming as a band, getting together with our instruments and not having anything too formulated and just creating from the ground up. And that was one of the coolest things about creating this record was it was really old-school style. We’re totally proud of it, man.”

You can listen to the aforementioned track below via SiriusXM‘s Liquid Metal. VIMIC will be releasing their debut album Open Your Omen through Roadrunner Records later this year.

Vocals – Kalen Chase (ex-Korn touring member)
Guitars/vocals – Kris Norris (ex-Darkest Hour/Scar The Martyr)
Guitars/vocals – Jed Simon (ex-Strapping Young Lad/Scar The Martyr)
Bass/vocals – Kyle Konkiel (ex-Scar The Martyr)
Keyboards – Matt Tarach
Drums – Joey Jordison (ex-Slipknot/Murderdolls)