Hypoxia announce sophomore album, Abhorrent Disease; premiere video for first single, “Condemned To The Abyss”

Official press release:

New York City-based death metal outfit Hypoxia – featuring members of Monstrosity, Secrecy, Castrator, Lethal Entity, and more – will release their torrential second full-length, Abhorrent Disease, through the extreme music merchants at Poland’s Selfmadegod Records in April. The album’s cover art, track listing, and a video for “Condemned To The Abyss” have been released. 

Hypoxia was founded in 2008 by drummer Carolina Perez and guitarist Carlos Arboleda, culminating the wrath of influential acts Sepultura, Death, Vader, Sinister, Suffocation, and other death metal icons. In 2011, the band released their first demo, The Purge, but the 2013-released follow-up, Public Execution, is where the band’s name started making waves in the local scene and beyond. 

In 2015, Hypoxia recruited Monstrosity and Vile vocalist Mike Hrubovcak into the band for the recording of their debut full-length, Despondent Death, which they recorded at Joe Cincotta’s Full Force Studios on Long Island and released through Czech Republic-based Ultimate Massacre Records

In 2018, Hypoxia created their most vicious outing yet, returning to Full Force Studios (Suffocation, Internal Bleeding, Dehumanized) for the recording of their second album, Abhorrent Disease. With ten new tracks totaling nearly forty minutes of old-school death metal fury, Abhorrent Disease devastates with straightforward and belligerent devastation, with deep-set hooks and spine-removing blasts attacking the listener with every track. The cover art for Abhorrent Disease was created by Daemorph (The Black Dahlia Murder, Avulsed, Pyrexia). 

Selfmadegod Records will release Hypoxia’s Abhorrent Disease on CD and all digital platforms on April 26th. Watch for additional audio samples, tour dates, and more to be issued shortly.

Abhorrent Disease track listing:

  1. “Dark Desires”
  2. “Condemned To The Abyss”
  3. “Unhallowed Unforeseen”
  4. “Possessed”
  5. “Enslaving Cage”
  6. “The Awakening”
  7. “Despise”
  8. “Perverse Instinct”
  9. “Withered”
  10. “Failures Of The Festering Flesh”

Hypoxia is:

Mike Hrubovcak – vocals
Carolina Perez – drums
Carlos “Dirty” Arboleda – guitar
Nadher Tabash – guitar
Michael Poggione – bass