Horsewhip to release self-titled LP via Financial Ruin, “Spill” new single

Photo by: Matt Valler

Official press release:

Florida-based Horsewhip – with members hailing from Y2K-era area acts including Reversal Of Man, Early Grace, Combatwoundedveteran, Order Of Importance, Sutek Conspiracy, and more – presents their eponymous debut 12″ through Financial Ruin. As the label discloses the record’s info and pre-orders, the track “Spill” has been issued through a premiere at No Echo.

Horsewhip offers of the song:

‘Spill’ is living in the past or in cycles and sonically through the same shit that we were moved by twenty-plus years ago without ripping them off too hard.”

Recorded at Rock Garden Studio by Dan Byers, mixed by Jeremy SH Griffith at Printups Studio, and finished with cover art by Richard Minino and graphic design by Shaun Drees, the dense Horsewhip 12″ packs seven tracks into eighteen minutes. Delivering a dose of crusty, gnarled, noise-drenched hardcore anthems, fans of His Hero Is Gone, Cursed, Acrid, Pg.99, Orchid, and the members’ prior acts Reversal Of Man and Combatwoundedveteran are advised to get on the Horsewhip.

Horsewhip will see release on all digital platforms and 12″ orange vinyl limited to 300 copies on September 14th through Financial Ruin, home to various disappointed bands but several satisfied credit card companies, with exclusive distribution through Dead Tank Records. Find digital pre-orders HERE and watch for vinyl pre-orders to post HERE this week.

Horsewhip track listing:

1. “Aver”
2. “Funeral Circus”
3. “Dropping Out”
4. “Dirt Bag”
5. “Spill”
6. “The Road”
7. “Fires”

A newer band of older men, Horsewhip reunites some early actors of the 1990s DIY hardcore scene for a now seasoned and less scrawny approach to the purging of stresses by way of dense guitar savagery, howling throat winds, unpleasant bass abuse, and the pounding drums of a grizzly attack. It’s a somewhat familiar sound filtered through twenty-plus subsequent years of American life and a heavy dose of Floridian swamp dread. It’s thick and it’s heavy. Four unshaven men having a go at it. This is a union of Medicine and Uranus.

Horsewhip is:

Mike Grantham – vocals
Shaun Drees – guitar/vocals
Alex Bond – drums
Jeff Howe – bass