High On Fire announce new record Electric Messiah, stream title track

Photo by: Jen Rosenstein

Official press release:

High On Fire releases a new single today titled “Electric Messiah”, exclusively via NPR Music (also below). The new song serves as the title track off the band’s all-new LP, which will be released on October 5, 2018 via Entertainment One (eOne).

Matt Pike, explaining the inspiration behind the title of High On Fire’s triumphant new Electric Messiah says:

“I had a dream about Lemmy. When Lemmy was still alive I always got compared to Lemmy, so I had this dream where he got pissed at me.

He gave me a bunch of shit, basically, and was hazing me. Not that he didn’t approve of me, but like I was being hazed. The song is me telling the world that I could never fill Lemmy’s shoes because Lemmy’s Lemmy. I wanted to pay homage to him in a great way. And it turned out to be such a good title that the guys said we should call the album Electric Messiah.”

Electric Messiah will serve as the follow-up to Luminiferous released in 2015, which went on to be one of the band’s most critically acclaimed albums. The record reunites the band once again with producer Kurt Ballou (Converge, Torche, Kvelertak) for the third time. Pike says:

Kurt just has a knack for us, man. We all work really well with him. Even if we have differences about how we want to record something, he works with us and understands what we do. We’ve been sticking with him because we haven’t made a bad record with him yet.”

It feels absurd to think that this late into their career High On Fire has hit a new career peak, but that’s what happens when you have a trio that works this well together. For all of Ballou’s sonic wizardry, Electric Messiah is all about the evolution of Pike, Matz, and Kensel. They simply cannot be denied a permanent spot among American royalty. Pike enthuses:

“This band keeps evolving. This is by far the best record I’ve ever made with the High On Fire stamp. It just keeps getting better and better. We just try to outdo ourselves. I’m not saying the old work is progressively worse, it’s just that we get better every time instead of burning out, which is a common finality for a lot of bands. This album is fucking excellent, I just love everything on it, I’m not bummed about anything. It’s great when you think that about your record.”

Digital pre-orders of Electric Messiah are available now here.

Electric Messiah track listing:

1. “Spewn From The Earth”
2. “Steps Of The Ziggurat/House Of Enlil”
3. “Electric Messiah”
4. “Sanctioned Annihilation”
5. “The Pallid Mask”
6. “God Of The Godless”
7. “Freebooter”
8. “The Witch And The Christ”
9. “Drowning Dog”