Herod detail new record Sombre Dessein, stream first single “Reckoning”

Photo by: Shehnaz Khan

Official press release:

Swiss progressive sludge metal unit Herod will release their Sombre Dessein full-length next month via Pelagic Records. Recorded and mixed by Swiss audiophile Julien Fehlman and mastered by Magnus Lindberg from Cult Of LunaSombre Dessein is an album of staggering riffs, intricate yet groovy polyrhythmic patterns, and pure heaviness. The bilingual vocal approach adds an unusual but intriguing aspect to the band’s delivery of their craft.

In advance of the album’s release, the band is pleased to unveil the official video for “Reckoning”, issuing of the clip:

“The track ‘Reckoning’ is the first single of the upcoming album Sombre Dessein. The concept behind Sombre Dessein is ‘the rise and fall of dictatorship and benevolent dictatorship.’ This and the modern human condition/the disease of consumerism. ‘Reckoning’ is the chapter of our story where we begin to see the cracks in the foundations… the turbulence and tearing down of initial visions/misinformation. Additionally, it was the first song that has been composed for this album and was always intended to be the single. The aesthetic of the video clip is made out of old footage of ancient civilizations which have collapsed at some point. Our current civilization will not escape this statement and we might reach the end of it. 

Bonus trivia, this is the song that the band recorded as a pre-production in order to find the next singer. [Guitarist/vocalist] Mike [Pilat] had reached out to [guitarist] Pierre [Carroz] after a mutual friend had told him of their vacant position. He received an MP3 of the track and took that off with him to Scotland where he was staying for a week, in a rural cottage over one-hundred years old. He borrowed a friend’s mobile rig and screamed down the cottage, then walked around for about an hour outside trying to get a 4G signal to upload it. Needless to say, he got the part.” 

View “Reckoning” via New Noise Magazine at below:

Sombre Dessein will be released on CD, LP, and digital formats February 15th, 2019 via Pelagic Records. See all pre-ordering links below:

Sombre Dessein track listing:

  1. “Fork Tongue Intro”
  2. “Fork Tongue”
  3. “Reckoning”
  4. “Don’t Speak Last”
  5. “Silent Truth”
  6. “Mourning Grounds”
  7. “There Will Be Gods”