Gold Steps announce Incandescent EP, stream new single “Firestarter”

Photo by: Shelby Kettrick

Official press release:

Chuggy guitar riffs, kick drum blasts and spitfire vocals define Austin pop-punk powerhouse group, Gold Steps. The quintet is led by energetic firestorm Liz Mauritz (vocals) and rounded out by Zach Duarte (lead guitar), Elias Perez (rhythm guitar), Erasmo “Raz” Garcia (bass), and Roger Steadman (drums). They are proud to announce their forthcoming EP, Incandescent due out May 25th. Mauritz expands:

Incandescent is an exploration of the ebbs and flows of one’s mental state, the volatile ups and downs I’ve experienced in my struggles with mental health.”

The 7-track EP, tracked at Overcast Recordings and produced by Rick King of King Sound, is a musical representation of emotions experienced in mood cycling episodes. It starts out with fire, a taking-on-the world feeling, which could be interpreted as a sort of manic state. But as the EP progresses, the tone becomes more erratic. The title Incandescent was chosen because of the multiple references to light, sparks, and fire woven through the lyrics, but it also represents the passion and intensity with which the record was written.

Off the forthcoming EP, Gold Steps have unleashed the opening track, entitled, “Firestarter”. Mauritz expands:

‘Firestarter’ was written as a sort of underdog anthem about nurturing the spark and building a fire within yourself to persevere and outdo those who don’t work as hard, yet feel entitled to success.”

The song is a testament to the bands work ethic and perseverance. Fans can stream the track in full, here! Pre-orders of the Incandescent EP can be picked up at Big Cartel, iTunes, Amazon, and Google Play.

Incandescent EP track listing:

1. “Firestarter”
2. “Exit The Apologist”
3. “Vacancies”
4. “As Luck Would Have It”
5. “Suckerpunch”
6. “Bright Side”
7. “Manic To Panic”

This month the band will be hitting the road with Forever Came Calling on a handful of dates including their SXSW debut on March 14th at Come and Take It Live. A full list of dates can be found below.

3/14 – Austin, TX | Come and Take It Live
3/16 – San Antonio, TX | Jack’s Patio
3/17 – Dallas, TX | Dirty 30