Future Usses detail new album The Existential Haunting, premiere new song “What Is Anything”

Photo by: Samantha Meglioli

Official press release:

Los Angeles-based Future Usses — featuring members of Intronaut and Bereft — will unleash their The Existential Haunting debut via Pelagic Records on September 14th.

An astounding instrumental record of devastatingly heavy, oppressively slow, yet shimmering and lush sludge-paced rock, run through a filter of nightmarish psychedelia, it’s hard to believe that The Existential Haunting is really a debut album. The trio’s sound comes across too shrewd, too canny, and too sophisticated. But while Future Usses has really only played a handful of shows in their short career, main songwriter Sacha Dunable has been a member of Intronaut for almost fifteen years and dabbled with various doom metal projects over the years, like Bereft. Future Usses takes small elements of what those bands do and magnifies them, combining the crushing, slow-motion power of doom with the atmosphere and dense harmonic tendencies of Intronaut.

Drums and guitar on The Existential Haunting were produced at Clearlake Audio with Josh Newell (Intronaut, Cynic) and Derek Donley (Intronaut, Bereft), and bass with Jon Nunez (Torche). Mixing was done by Converge’s Kurt Ballou at GodCity Studio.

Guitarist Sacha Dunable said of the album:

“This album is the end result of almost five years of rewriting, rerecording, and reconceptualizing what these songs were and what this band was going to be. With the help of my bandmates and everyone involved in the production of this album, we made something truly unique and special. Totally worth the wait, and we can’t wait to finally bring it to you in person.”

Hear “What Is Anything”, courtesy of MetalSucks, here:

The Existential Haunting will see release on CD, LP, and digital formats. For pre-orders in North America go to THIS LOCATION, in Europe go HERE, in Australia go HERE, and for digital orders go HERE.

The Existential Haunting track listing:

1. “What Is Anything”
2. “Absolute Zero”
3. “Make Flowers”
4. “Heavenly Superperson”
5. “Apocalypse When Convenient”
6. “The Existential Haunting”