Funeral Advantage announced new record Nectarine, stream new track “Black House”

Photo by: Caroline Bailey

Official press release:

Funeral Advantage – the indie rock/bedroom pop project of Massachusetts’s native Tyler Kershaw – has announced details for his upcoming, new album Nectarine. Fans can now hear the new song “Black House”, premiering exclusively with Atwood Magazine:

Kershaw has peeled away the intense personal emotions seen in his previous releases and spent time searching for other things to address.  He explains:

“I was having a hard time relating to my previous output. I wanted to make art about things other than myself and my experiences. I have a much healthier relationship with Nectarine than I did with my other releases.”

The new self-removal from the subject matter of his latest album made way for a more straight forward approach to the relentlessly sad, danceable pop music that has earned Funeral Advantage an international cult following. His music has been featured and applauded by Boston GlobeStereogumConsequence of SoundVanyaland, and Brooklyn Vegan. Kershaw continues:

“You have to learn balance between leading a mentally sound personal life and the life you try to imitate while people are looking at you. My songs are going to be about how certain people deal with that, for now.”

Nectarine will be released on February 22, 2019 through Brooklyn’s Sleep Well Records.

Nectarine track listing:

  1. “Rinsed”
  2. “Black House”
  3. “Peach Nectarine”
  4. “Stone Around Your Neck”
  5. “Bad Magnet”
  6. “Take Me Down”
  7. “It Never Gets Any Better, You Just Get Used to It”