Drab Majesty announces new album The Demonstration


Official press release:

Listen to “Cold Souls”, the first song to surface from Drab Majesty’s forthcoming sophomore LP The Demonstration, today on CLRVYNT. Recorded by Josh Eustis (NIN, Telefon Tel Aviv), The Demonstration is due out January 20th, 2017 from DAIS Records.

The Demonstration features 11 new songs from Drab Majesty, who began in 2012 as a warbled transmission received via 4-track cassette in a dim, Los Angeles bedroom. The entity known as Deb Demure, an interdimensional muse of sorts, lent an otherworldly vision to a human contact; one to be realized through meticulously composed lo-fi recordings. Focusing on the aesthetics of cult ritual and the devastating power of music, Deb sought an alternative way to share the cosmic agenda. Culminating in a cassette titled Unarian Dances, Drab Majesty’s manifesto to humanity was revealed: revel in the power of artistic influences that reside beyond the self.

In 2015, Drab Majesty released Careless, the first LP which was received and recorded solely by Demure on living room floors and in cluttered spaces across the city. After three pressings and an imminent fourth, Careless remains a fixture in LA’s somber yet sublime nightlife and a noted contribution to the murkier subcultures abroad. Wielding a left-handed guitar, Deb employs a unique style of arpeggiated finger picking, producing vast and organic musical textures reminiscent of Vinny Reilly (Durutti Column) with the anthemic power of Sisters of Mercy and Cocteau Twins. In the past two years Deb has been invited to support bands such as Psychic TV, Clan of Xymox, The Frozen Autumn, Prayers, and label mates Youth Code and King Dude. From its incarnation, Drab Majesty was a solo act; an interplay between guitar and triggered machines. In 2016, with growing audiences and heightened interest, Drab expanded into a duo, employing the keyboard accompaniment of far-out twin, Mona D – filling out frequencies and upping the spectacle of the live performance.

Drab Majesty will tour extensively in support of The Demonstration; stay tuned for more information, song premieres, and pre-order to come soon.

The Demonstration track listing:

1. “Induction”
2. “Dot In The Sky”
3. “39 By Design”
4. “Not Just A Name”
5. “Hath No Form”
6. “Too Soon To Tell”
7. “Cold Souls”
8. “A Spire Points At The Heavens”
9. “Kissing The Ground”
10. “Forget Tomorrow”
11. “Behind The Wall”


Tour dates:

10/28 – Los Angeles, CA | Chateau Inferno
10/30 – Los Angeles, CA | The Mayan *
11/13 – Los Angeles, CA | Echo ^
11/20 – Austin, TX | Cheer Up Charlie’s
11/22 – Dalls, TX | RBC
11/23 – Houston, TX | Numbers
12/09 – Sacramento, CA | Starlite Lounge
12/10 – Oakland, CA | The Golden Bull

* w/ Prayers
^ w/ King Dude