Devin Townsend details new album Transcendence, debut new single “Failure”

Devin Townsend 4

This year will see the release of a new Devin Townsend Project record titled Transcendence. Mastermind Devin Townsend said of the effort:

Transcendence, like every record I’ve done prior, is an extension of what’s been going on in my world, represented in a new batch of songs. I’m 44 years old now, and this is where I have been over the past two years since . The result of this process is a record that I truly think the intention of is special. I ‘found’ gas to put into the tank and am glad I did. I think the intention, the theme, and the participation of everyone involved allows this album to act like a fulcrum between the past few years and what I intend to do next with the symphony. I am very proud of it and everyone involved.”

Regarding the cover art – which was handled by Anthony Clarkson along with the track listing – he adds:

“He presented me the main image of the girl as a painted version, and I was intrigued and asked him to redo it with a girl he knew with photos. I liked the idea that it seemed like a mash up of religious and spiritual imagery, in a sense, representing the idea (to me) that these types of connections to the infinite are often more like identities we can cling to rather than what lies behind. In a sense, the character on the front almost seems like the ideologies she’s representing are more ‘brand names’ than anything else.”

The record’s first single, “Failure”, is now streaming and can be heard below. HevyDevy Records/InsideOut Music will have the effort in stores on September 9th. Pre-orders can be picked up now at Amazon and iTunes.

The Devin Townsend Project will be hitting the road in support of Transcendence with Between The Buried And Me and Fallujah next month on the Transcending The Coma Tour.

Transcendence (deluxe edition) track listing:

Disc 1:

1. “Truth”
2. “Stormbending”
3. “Failure”
4. “Secret Sciences”
5. “Higher”
6. “Stars”
7. “Transcendence”
8. “Offer Your Light”
9. “From The Heart”
10. “Transdermal Celebration”

Disc 2:

1. “Gump”
2. “Celestial Signals”
3. “Support The Cause” (demo)
4. “Into The Sun” (demo)
5. “Time Overload” (demo)
6. “Lexus” (demo)
7. “Farther On” (demo)
8. “Victim” (demo)
9. “MonkeyMind” (demo)
10. “Canucklehead” (demo)
11. “Loud”

Devin Townsend 3