Cokegoat announce new album Drugs And Animals


Official press release:

On November 25th, Chicago-based death doom collective Cokegoat will drop the torrential fruit of their latest full-length, Drugs And Animals, upon unsuspecting souls. Engineered, produced, and mixed by Andy Nelson (Weekend Nachos, Like Rats) at Bricktop Recording and mastered by Carl Saff (Unsane, Red Fang, Earthless et al) at Saff Mastering, the nihilistic sounds of Drugs And Animals displays the unit manifesting their own unique brand of heavy, sullen music. The post/doom/death/heavy metal sextet layers Jeff Wojtysiak, Ed Nudd, and Rebekah Brown on guitars, synths and vocals, while Chase Bentley, Tim Baldwin, and Jordan Schultz add mass with guitar, bass and drums respectively. Six members strong. Six years in the making. Six musical voices.

Comments the band:

Drugs And Animals is a tall refreshing Long Island Ice Tea in a craft cocktail world. It’s trashy, it will get you fucked up, and you’ll probably wake up in a strange place needing a double dose of antibiotics. To quote producer/engineer Andy Nelson during the recording sessions, ‘This album is dense.’ Since our 2013 debut LP Vessel, countless group texts have helped Cokegoat achieve growing friendships, razor sharp focus, mental stability, financial instability and a more advanced writing process. In other words, we are beyond stoked to get this record to your earholes.”

Drugs And Animals will be released digitally and on 180-gram 12″ vinyl late next month via the official Cokegoat Bandcamp page. In the meantime, sample “Nurture” below:

Drugs And Animals track listing:

Side A:

1. “Quiet Tyrant”
2. “The Burner”
3. “Winter Of Fear”
4. “Nurture”

Side B:

5. “The Ruiner”
6. “Where The Sun Dies”
7. “Kreator/Destroyer”