Cane Hill to release new EP Kill The Sun in January; stream two tracks

Next month will see the release of a new, semi-acoust EP from Cane Hill. Titled Kill The Sun, the six-song release is due in stores on January 18th through Rise Records. The group teamed up with producer Kris Crummett (Dance Gavin DanceIssues) on the effort. The group said of it:

“We spent the summer working on new Cane Hill music. We’ve embraced the weirder and mellower side of what we do, as it’s something we think is important to our band. With that in mind, we’ve been in the studio with the incredibly talented Kris Crummett, working on music that embellishes those elements. It’s six songs of dark, twisted, and semi-acoustic beauty. We’re incredibly proud of it and can’t wait for you to hear it.

We wanted to embrace some leftover emotions we’ve been dealing with since getting our shit together while exploring our own musical limitations. We made this semi-acoustic record because we needed to for ourselves — and because honestly, why the fuck not?”

A music video for the title track and another song titled “Acid Rain”, listen below.  Regarding the title track, vocalist Elijah Witt commented:

“We wanted our first single from this album to be as big of a curveball as possible. Kill The Sun is as far of a departure from our usual ‘heavy metal anthem’ leadoff as we could get. Like, who knew Devin[Clark] could play the saxophone?! This track is about my constant self-sabotage; my tendency to find happiness and just as quickly finding a way to ruin it. There’s a very loud voice in my head that feeds me to the wolves I created, effectively killing any light in my life. And deep down, there’s a part of me that relishes in the misery.”

Pre-orders for Kill The Sun EP are available now at this location.

Kill The Sun EP track listing:

  1. 86d – No Escort
  2. Empty
  3. Save Me
  4. Kill The Sun
  5. Acid Rain
  6. Smoking Man