Braveyoung to release new effort, Misery And Pride this spring via The Flenser; lead single streaming

Official press release:

Portland OR’s Braveyoung have returned with a new album of somber instrumentals entitled Misery And Pride. While arranging details for the release, founding member Isaac Jones was seriously injured in a motorcycle accident. He has since recovered, and Braveyoung are eager for their long-awaited second album to see the light of day. Misery And Pride unfolds like an ominous premonition of the turbulent years since its completion; listen to the album’s brooding first single “Wonderful” now via TinyMixTapes:

Misery And Pride sounds as more like a classical music than the expansive post-rock Braveyoung is known for. Brooding drones and chamber string arrangements shape these stripped-down eulogies, but the menace of their punk roots remains. The album takes its name from text in Czech author Milan Kundera‘s novel, Ignorance.

Formed as a duo in 2005 by brothers Zac and Isaac Jones, Braveyoung released their first album the following year under the name Giant. They soon changed their name and began working with Michael Rich. As a trio they spent the next several years exploring new sounds and touring extensively. They attracted the attention of The End Records, who released the Bloom EP in 2009 and their first full-length album We Are Lonely Animals in 2011. The same year saw the release of a collaborative effort with weirdo heavy music stalwarts The Body, then the relocation of the band to Portland Oregon. Never abandoning their DIY ethos, the ensuing years saw the release of several more EPs, live performances and eventually the recording of Misery And Pride.

Misery and Pride will be released on March 24th by The Flenser and is available for pre-order here. More news coming soon.

Misery And Pride track listing:

1. “Wonderful”
2. “You Pigs Should Find A God To Love”
3. “Blue Beyond The Hill”
4. “Oh Love That Will Not Let Me Go”
5. “Such A Worm As I”
6. “I Lay In Dust Life’s Glory Dead”
7. “The Good King Will Punish You”

Braveyoung is:

Issac Jones
Zac Jones
Mike Rich