Berthold City announce What Time Takes EP, stream new track “Beware The Snakes”

Photo by: Todd Pollock

Official press release:

Los Angeles-based Berthold City, founded by veterans of the straightedge hardcore scene through playing with Strife, World Be Free, Internal Affairs, Allegiance, and more, presents their latest release, What Time Takes. As the new EP is locked for release via WAR Records in mid-June, the lead single, “Beware The Snakes” has been premiered through No Echo.

Berthold City returns less than a year after the release of their Moment Of Truth debut EP with a brand new four-song 7”. What Time Takes delivers a heavy dose of pissed-off, anthemic, straight edge hardcore, with all four tracks clocking in at just over seven minutes. What Time Takes was recorded and mixed by Aaron Jamili at Wormhole Studios and mastered by Arthur Rizk (Power Trip, Cavalera Conspiracy, Candy), and its layout and design handled by Jeremy Dean.

Prime hardcore/punk outlet No Echo has posted an interview with band founder and WAR Records owner Andrew Kline (Strife, World Be Free) alongside the first single, “Beware The Snakes”. The interview includes on the track:

“Lyrically, ‘Beware the Snakes’ is like a modern version of ‘Don’t Tread On Me.’ I think we have all had a person in our lives that mistakes your kindness for weakness and tries to take advantage of you because you are always there when they need something from you. This song is about identifying all of the two-faced snakes and cutting them out of your life. Bite back!”

What Time Takes will see release on 7” vinyl EP and digital platforms June 14th via WAR Records. Find pre-orders at the label webshop and Bandcamp.

Watch for additional audio samples and more from the EP to be released in the days ahead.

What Time Takes EP track listing:

  1. “What Time Takes”
  2. “No One To Blame”
  3. “Beware The Snakes”
  4. “Broken Foundation”