Atreyu to release new album, In Our Wake, this fall; stream two new songs

Official press release:

Atreyu have revealed that they will be releasing their seventh record, titled In Our Wake, on October 12th through Search And Destroy Records and Spinefarm Records. The effort was produced by John Feldmann (The Used, Black Veil Brides) and is available for pre-order now at this location. Bassist Marc “Porter” McKnight said of the album title:

“The album title In Our Wake comes from the idea that every day we humans have two roads we can go down. Do you choose to inspire, uplift, and enhance each others lives? Or do you prefer to belittle, shit talk, and tear down each other down? With each choice made you leave a ripple that reflects across your community, then onto your city, to your nation, and eventually all across the globe. Who do you leave in your wake?”

Frontman Alex Varkatzas added:

“It’s a deep one. We looked up to Chris Cornell and Chester Bennington, and their deaths were fresh during the writing process. It made us think of what we’ll leave in our wake. We have a choice to change the lives of others for the better.”

Drummer/singer Brandon Saller offered:

“This album is sort of a happy place for Atreyu. We’ve gone down many roads. We’ve always been a diverse band that tried new things but this is different. This is a whole new level.”

News of the album’s release comes with the premiere of two new songs. A music video for the title track and an audio stream of “Anger Left Behind”. Of the video for “In Our Wake”, McKnight said:

“With this music video, we wanted our longtime director friend Sean Stiegemeie to come up with something completely unlike anything we’ve done before. We wanted to leave the viewer with a feeling of ‘What the fuck did I just watch!?’ and then play it again to deduce what went down.

Most of our videos have been story-based or life-based. But with this, we just wanted the subtle thread of humanity’s growth and decline. It starts with water, then earth, nature, cityscapes, then slowly decaying humanity. We have a choice as a species to start giving a shit about ourselves and the world around us, and what we choose to make of this life.”

In Our Wake track listing:

1. “In Our Wake”
2. “House Of Gold”
3. “The Time Is Now”
4. “Nothing Will Ever Change”
5. “Blind Deaf & Dumb”
6. “Terrified”
7. “Safety Pin”
8. “Into the Open”
9. “Paper Castle”
10. “No Control”
11. “Anger Left Behind”
12. “Super Hero”