As It Is announce new record The Great Depression, release video for first single “The Wounded World”

British pop punks As It Is will be releasing their third studio record, The Great Depression, on August 10th through Fearless Records. Pre-orders are available on physical and digital formats now via this link. Additionally, the group have debuted the music video for the album’s first single, “The Wounded World”. Vocalist Patty Walters said of the track and accompanying clip:

‘The Wounded World’ is a commentary on the polarised and volatile modern reality, which we’ve allowed. The video depicts a not-so-distant dystopia, where present-day headlines and technologies are displayed in exhibits as the warning signs of an impending disaster. I feel that we as a society have embodied a destructive habit of talking without listening, surrounding ourselves with alternative facts and headlines, totally void of open-mindedness or empathy. Despite the labels and beliefs that all too often divide us, we are one people, and we’re all to blame.”

Regarding The Great Depression itself, he offered:

The Great Depression is about the societal romanticisation of depression, the disrepair of present-day human connection, told through the story of a man who finds himself face-to-face with Death. This album is about asking questions rather than offering answers, exploring the lines where consolation and glorification collide, and asking if art is too subjective to offer a universal solution.

We’ve approached this subject with the tremendous respect and sensitivity it warrants. Mental health awareness and prioritisation has always been immensely important to us, and we want to use this platform for good and to challenge problematic behaviours and stigmas. More so than ever before, we’ll be working alongside incredible non-profits, donating proceeds to worthy causes, and using our music in hopes of creating a positive change.”

The Great Depression track listing:

Stage I: Denial

1. “The Great Depression”
2. “The Wounded World”
3. “The Fire, The Dark”

Stage II: Anger

4. “The Stigma (Boys Don’t Cry)”
5. “The Handwritten Letter”
6. “The Question, The Answer”

Stage III: Bargaining

7. “The Reaper” (ft. Aaron Gillespie)
8. “The Two Tongues (Screaming Salvation)”
9. “The Truth I’ll Never Tell”

Stage IV: Acceptance

10. “The Haunting”
11. “The Hurt, The Hope”
12. “The End.”